Episode #1: The Re-Enactors

(Pincha aqui para version en Castellano)

Among the first people I met when I started my research for  this project was a small group of Civil War re-enactors.   Because this war is a sensitive subject in Spain, the existence of such a group seemed truly remarkable at the time.  In fact, less than a half hour had transpired since a pair of executives at an local production company had told me with knowing chuckles that there wasn’t and would never be re-enactors in Spain.  It was simply too radical an idea.  Well, the world changes, whether or not we choose to recognize this, and this situation illustrates exactly what this series is about.  

In the years since, Civil War re-enacting has become one of the most visible aspects of the breakdown of Spain’s Pact of Oblivion.  At a time when affronts to this social contract to forget the war and the ensuing dictatorship are typically confrontational or at least highly political, these re-enactors struggle to practice their hobby in a spirit of reconciliation.  But is it even possible to play at war for the goal of peace?

Note:  There is a high-quality version of this film available through the button on the lower right.  It takes a little while to download, but it’s worth it.

February 24, 2009 - Posted by | On The Front Lines | , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Esperamos más entregas, por lo que hemos podido ver…describe muy bien lo que intentamos haces los recreadroes.

    Comment by Oriol Miró Serra | February 28, 2009

  2. Un vídeo genial, está muy bien. Gracias a grupos como este la gente pude ver como fué la guerra, y así es una manera de no volver a repetir lo ocurrido años atrás.

    Por mi parte espero más vídeos !

    Un saludo !

    Comment by Guillem Rubio | February 28, 2009

  3. This is a great beginning! I can’t wait for further installments, and I have to thank you for this. As an American wi a Spanish mother (don’t get me started) I’ve always loved my Spanish roots, actually, probably a bit more than my American, but don’t quote me! And just like James says here, I would hear all kinds of stories, sometimes contradictory, from all my Spanish relatives. Always leaving the impression of a harrowing experience, and LOTS of fear, misfortune and very tough times. I’m so greatful that you are investigating this, bringing this issue out into the open in a documentary style and trying to show more than one point of view. Very needed. I know there are still many Spaniards that resist this, but it seems that this is exactly what is needed. Shine a light on the darkness. Lets accept the bad and move on with some good from all this.
    Thanks James 🙂

    Comment by Terry Edwards-Shook | March 11, 2009

  4. When we set up La Columna in 2000 we said, at one of the first meetings, that we never expected to do any SCW re-enactment in Spain: we thought it was too raw and not likely for a long time to come but, we were surprised and delighted we by its meteoric rise in Spain over the last decade. We set our group up in the UK to educate the British public about the 2000 or so British volunteers who went to fight fascism in Spain; important in itself, but seemingly insignificant compared to helping a nation ‘remember’ its past; I have always thought re-enactment an important tool in making the past and its legacy ‘real’ and tangible, and in this context particularly so.

    Comment by James Biddlecombe | March 30, 2009

  5. Nice film. It piqued my curiosity about this oft-invoked event that most of us know nothing about. Hemingway wrote on it, but most of us only pretend to have read Hemingway, and his take was very American, anyway, from what I understand. Please keep this work up when you can. I want to know more, but I’d like to hear it from James, not wikipedia or history channel. Good job, my man.

    Comment by Tom Lind | May 5, 2009

  6. Hi Comrades!

    I’m the italian camarada was with you in Ebro cross in Mora in July 2008. How do you do?

    I hope meet you in future (the italian crisis is very strong…!!!)

    Marco

    Comment by Marco | August 14, 2009


Leave a comment